Week 6: Never Say Never

When I was pregnant, and even before, there we’re certain things I told myself I would never do as a parent. I absolutely do not judge other parents that make decisions different from mine, what works for you may not work for me and vice versa. One of the things I had said I would never do, because it didn’t seem like it would work for me, is co-sleep with my baby. Well, as the title of this post says, never say never. On Ramona’s second or third night home we had her in the bassinet next to the bed, and she was fussing despite being fed and changed, so I picked her up and laid her next to me in the bed and she instantly calmed down and fell asleep. The next night we tried the bassinet again with the same results. She was so small and not used to a completely dark room (the NICU was never actually dark) we figured she just needed to know she wasn’t alone. Last week I tried to transition her back to the bassinet with no luck, she only wants to sleep next to mommy for now. While this is not my ideal arrangement, and I have worries about how to ever get her into her crib, I admit it melts my heart to feel a little hand lightly reaching out in the dark of the night just to touch me and know I’m there. It’s an amazing thing to know that simply being right there is all my girl needs to feel safe and secure.

While this post may be a week late, the picture is from last week.

20140108-114211.jpg

One thought on “Week 6: Never Say Never

  1. I’ve heard/seen these attachment things you can put on side of bed to get co-sleeping effect but baby has it’s own space…maybe an option for when you want to try to transition?

Leave a comment